top of page

Irvine Welsh in Conversation with Alan Warner

Wednesday 22nd Sept.  4.30pm - 5.30pm BST (Online)

Eavesdrop as collaborators on recent book The Seal Club, Alan Warner and Irvine Welsh, talk life and writing (with Q&A) 

In 2020 Irvine Welsh, John King, author of The Football Factory, and Alan Warner jointly published a book of three novellas: The Seal Club. 

Irvine Welsh is the author of eleven novels and four books of shorter fiction. Trainspotting (1993), his first novel, was a phenomenal bestseller and has since become a cult classic of the 1990s, described by The Sunday Times as ‘The voice of punk, grown up, grown wiser and eloquent.’ The film of the novel was directed by Danny Boyle and released in 1996 and has been ranked tenth by the British Film Institute’s Top 1000 British Films of all time. T2 Trainspotting, based on the novel Porno (2002), is a sequel to Trainspotting and reunited the original cast. Irvine currently lives between Miami and the UK. 

Alan Warner is the author or nine novels: Morvern Callar, which was filmed in 2002, These Demented Lands, The Sopranos - filmed as Our Ladies, in 2021, The Man Who Walks, The Worms Can Carry Me to Heaven, The Stars in the Bright Sky, which was longlisted for the 2010 Booker Prize, The Deadman’s Pedal which won the 2012 James Tait Black Prize, and Their Lips Talk of Mischief. His latest novel, Kitchenly 434, was published in 2021.

Supported by the University of Aberdeen English Literature Society 

Lit soc.jpg
bottom of page